More News

England wins Battle for the Dragon cook-off in Wales

Read time: 3 Min
Wales, 19th February 2018



Battle for
the Dragon cook-off matched Wales against England. 
Wales’ young chefs
were looking to succeed where the nation’s rugby team failed against England at
Twickenham in the Six Nations Championship but England won once again with the
National Junior Team taking the Gold Medal and the Trophy

The two countries went head to head again, but this
time in the heat of the kitchen in the Battle of the Dragon contest at the
Welsh International Culinary Championships at Coleg Llandrillo Menai,
Rhos-on-Sea on Wednesday and Thursday, February 14th and 15th.

At stake for the winner was national pride and the
Dragon Trophy, which has been won in the past by national culinary teams from
around the globe, including Sweden, Germany and New Zealand.

The challenge that faced the young chefs from both
Wales and England was to prepare and cook a three-course meal for 70 people. A
panel of international chef judges were keeping a close watch on their work in
the kitchen before tasting the dishes.

It’s a huge test for both teams, as they prepare to
compete in the world’s top culinary competitions in the future. England’s next
major event is at the Culinary World Cup in Luxembourg later in the year.

Wales’ menu was Seared Scallop, Langoustine Thermidor,
Granola, Cucumber, Piccalilli and Seafood Espuma. Main Course of Pork Tenderloin
wrapped in Prosciutto, Pig’s Head Bonbon, Honey Roasted Carrots, Carrot Purée, Sprout
Leaves, Apples and Parsnip with Pork Jus. Dessert was Bramley Apple, Vanilla Ice

England’s Junior Team, managed by Matthew
Shropshall, was captained by Edward Marsh (Michelin starred The Manor,
Wiltshire) and included Jack Gameson (UCB HE student and Warwick Castle pastry
chef), Greg Evans (Lainston House Hotel, Wiltshire – 4 AA rosettes), Nathan
Lane (Michelin starred The Ritz, London), Angelina Adamo (3 AA rosettes Park
Restaurant, York), Elliot Lawn (UCB HE student and Michelin starred Adam’s
Restaurant, Birmingham) and Millie Tibbins (UCB HE student and Harborne
Kitchen, Birmingham).

England’s winning menu was Farmed Pan-Roasted Halibut,
Langoustine Croquette, Radish and Cucumber Salad, Romanesco and Langoustine Velouté.
Main Course of Venison Loin, Potato Gateau, Fennel Purée, Cabbage, Sweetbread Boudin,
Sautéed Wild Mushrooms and Port Sauce. Dessert, Dark Chocolate and Orange Mousse,
Citrus Sponge and Iced Blood Orange.

Quote from Mathew: “It continues
to be a real honour to manage, train, develop and compete as the National
Junior Team Manager. I'm really pleased to be the first Manager for England to
win the Gold for England’s Juniors and so proud to watch Ed, Jack, Greg,
Nathan, Angelina, Elliot and Millie develop within the team.  During the past five years we have grown as a
team and are working well as a unit. The comment from WACS Continental Director,
Dragan Unic, during the competition that the England Juniors work similarly to
the Swedish Senior Team is a real credit to the hard work the team put in to
training and developing. We aim to work harder for the run up to the Culinary
World Cup. My assistant Manager, Richard Taylor has also played a key role in
supporting the team. A big thank you to England’s Team Sponsors, best result to
date and we now look forward to competing in Luxembourg.”


The British Culinary Federation and National Team
sponsors offer their sincere congratulations to Mathew Shropshall and the team
for lifting the trophy and winning Gold Medal.

Picture captions:

England’s National Junior Team, L-R Jack Gameson,
Angelina Adamo. Edward Marsh, Greg Evans, Nathan Lane and Mathew Shropshall.

Lane in action, with Edward Marsh.

victorious England team with Lesley Griffiths, Cabinet Secretary for Energy, Planning and Rural Affairs, Dragan Unic, Worldchefs
continental director for Northern Europe and Lee Corke, BCF Senior Culinary
Team Manager who was one of the judges.


More News

What are you looking for?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors